top of page

Entry Requirements

The Tourist Card is a required document for residents of authorized countries to enter the Dominican Republic exclusively for touristic purposes without a visa. It can be obtained at the Dominican Consulates or directly upon arrival at the airports in the Dominican Republic. The cost is US $10 and is valid for 30 days. (Please note that some of the tour operators include the Tourist Card in their packages.) Residents of the following countries do not need a tourist card or visa in order to enter the Dominican Republic:

  • Argentina

  • Chile

  • Ecuador

  • Israel

  • Japan

  • Perú

  • South Korea

  • Uruguay

Residents of the following countries need a tourist card in order to enter the Dominican Republic for touristic purposes:
  • Andorra.

  • Antigua and Barbuda

  • Aruba

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Bahamas

  • Barbados

  • Bahréin

  • Belize

  • Belgium

  • Bolivia

  • Bostwana

  • Bouvet Island

  • Brazil

  • Brunei

  • Heard and McDonald Islands

  • Honduras

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Ireland

  • Italy

  • Jamaica

  • Kazajstán

  • Kiribati

  • Kuwait

  • Latin-Americans, including Cubans, that are permanent residents of the United States

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Luxemburg

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • Saint Vincent and The Grenadines

  • Saint Lucia

  • Salomón Islands

  • Samoa

  • San Marino

  • Serbia

  • Seychelles

  • Singapore

  • Surinam

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Thailand

  • The Netherlands (Holland, Curacao and Saint Martin)

  • Tonga

  • Trinidad and Tobago

  • Turkey

  • Turks and Caicos

  • Tuvalu

  • Canada

  • Costa Rica

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Dominica

  • El Salvador

  • Estonia

  • Fiji

  • Finland

  • France (French GuyanaMartinique, Guadalupe and Reunión)

  • Germany

  • Granada

  • Greece

  • Guatemala

  • Guyana

  • Macedonia

  • Malaysia

  • Malta

  • Marshall Islands

  • Mauritius

  • Mexico

  • Micronesia

  • Mónaco

  • Montenegro

  • Namibia

  • Nauru

  • New Zealand

  • Northern Marianas Islands

  • Norway

  • Paraguay

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Qatar

  • Republic of South Africa

  • Residents of countries that can legally enter the United States, the European Union, Canada and Great

  • Britain

  • Rumania

  • Russia

  • Ukraine

  • United Arab Emirates

  • United Kingdom of Great Britain (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Country of Wales)

  • United States of North America (includes Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, St. Thomas, St. Croix, St. John, Hawaii)

  • Vanuatu

  • Venezuela

Residents of the following countries with Diplomatic, Official or Service Passports do not need a tourist card or visa in order to enter the Dominican Republic:
  • Argentina

  • Belize

  • Brazil

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Costa Rica

  • Ecuador

  • El Salvador

  • Guatemala

  • Honduras

  • Israel

  • Italy

  • Japan

  • Mexico

  • Morocco

  • Nicaragua

  • Panamá

  • Perú

  • Principality of Liechtenstein

  • Republic of China (Taiwán)

  • South Korea

  • Switzerland

  • Ukraine

  • Uruguay

  • Vatican

General Rules

Residents of countries not listed above need a Dominican visa to enter the country.

  1. The Dominican Consulates have the right to issue and renew the tourism visas (TS) and business simple (NS) to legal residents in their corresponding jurisdictions without previous authorization of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs with the exception of visas requested by Cuba, Colombia, Saudi Arabia, Argelia, Morocco, Muritania, Sahara, Somalia, Sudán, Túnez, Yemen, Libya, Irán, Irak, Jordan, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Syria, Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Popular Republic of China, India and Pakistan.

  2. All the Honorary Consulates require the authorization of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in order to issue any type of visa.

  3. Foreigners from territories that are within authorized countries to enter with a tourist card and that are not listed above, require a visa.

  4. As a general rule, all foreigners wishing to visit the Dominican Republic for business need to apply for a business visa (simple or multiple) at a diplomatic mission or consulate overseas, even if it’s included in the list of countries that have permission to enter with a tourist card (these listed countries only have permission to enter for touristic purposes).

  5. As a general rule, all foreigners that enter the Dominican Republic with a visa or tourist card need a valid passport.

  6. In order to extend a visit to the Dominican Republic, the tourist has to go to the offices of the Direccion General de Migration at the airport and pay for an extension. After the expiration of the 30 day tourist card, the cost of the extension starts at US $10 (depending of the length of the stay).

  7. The Ministry of Consulate and Migration Affairs reserves the right to deny the issuance of a visa without previous consultation with consulates that do not observe the regulations and procedures of current visa regulations. In the case of irregularities, the corresponding sanctions could be recommended or apply.

bottom of page